Georgia Standard Rental Lease Agreement Templates

Last updated March 20th, 2024

  1. Home »
  2. Lease »
  3. Georgia Standard Rental Lease Agreement Templates

A Georgia lease agreement is a legal document between a landlord and tenant for rental of a property. It outlines their responsibilities and verifies the tenant’s credit and employment.
Rental Application – Rental applicants must undergo employment, credit, and background checks.

Types of Agreements

  • Standard Lease Agreement
  • Association of Realtors Agreement
  • Commercial Lease Agreement
  • Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
  • Rent-To-Own Lease Agreement
  • Room (roommate) Rental Lease Agreement
  • Sublease Agreement
  • Disclosures
  • Lead-Based Paint Disclosure Form
  • Flood Disclosure
  • Move-in / Move-out Inspection Form
  • Lead-Based Paint Disclosure

Security Deposits

  • Maximum – There is no legal limit on the maximum amount a landlord can request for rent. The landlord is free to request any amount they desire.
  • Return – The landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within one month of the termination date, as required by § 44-7-34 of the law.

Grace Period

In the state of Georgia, tenants are obligated to pay their rent on the date specified in the lease agreement. It is important to note that there is no grace period for tenants in Georgia, meaning that if rent payment is made after the due date, the landlord may commence eviction proceedings. The tenant will be issued a notice to quit, which is a formal document indicating that the tenant must vacate the rental property.

Late Fees

Rent – There exists no definitive limit on the maximum penalty for late rent as per the laws. However, landlords have the legal right to impose interest on the rent owed by the tenant. The highest interest rate, commonly known as the usury rate, is 16% per year, as specified in § 7-4-2(a)(2).

NSF Fee – Under § 13-6-15, the NSF (non-sufficient funds) fee collected by the landlord from the tenant for a bounced check is either $30 or 5% of the check amount, whichever is greater.

Right to Enter

Landlords are not legally required to give notice before entering a tenant’s residence, but it is recommended to provide reasonable notice, usually 24 or 48 hours, as required by law in most states.

Georgia Residential Lease Agreement 1 2024 01 05T164107.876 (1)